Golf carts are those types of vehicles that are generally not very fast. Yes, there are ways to make a golf cart go faster though. But that’s not the point.
I’m mentioning the speed factor. Because due to this people often think the regulations on driving golf carts must be quite forgiving. And partly it is true but the fact that there are rules and regulations on driving a golf cart, should not still be avoided. And one must follow them to avoid hassles later.
One confusion that many have is regarding how old do you have to be to drive a golf cart in Florida? If you don’t already know, the rulings vary from one place to another, and today I’ll cover the ones for Florida.
Legal Age To Drive A Golf Cart In Florida:
Apparently, at least 14 years old. Yes, that’s the least for age requirement and no, you don’t need any license for that. Also, keep in mind that this is about designated public roadways area.
So, can a 13 year old drive a golf cart in Florida? Obviously, he or she cannot do that on public roads.
Not only this, but the legal age of 14 years will also need the person driving a golf cart to follow a speed limit of 25 miles per hour. And for going above 20 miles per hour, a special license shall be required. Yes, when you include the speed factor, license matters enter as well. And that is basically the shortest summary I could give you on golf cart laws in Florida.
Things Get Complicated If It’s a Rented Golf Cart.
So now you know how old can you be to drive a golf cart in Florida. However, that information is not enough. You see, if you are staying at a place and want to rent a golf cart, then the procedures will become more confusing.
Because the rental company you will contact for the purpose might have some regulations to follow for their insurance. And so, the obligation to those terms may make it hard for you to allow any person aged below 16 years old to drive the golf cart.
Because that’s what most insurance companies want. They have a restriction for golf carts that are driven by a person aged below 16 years old. Also, some rental companies even go up to 21 years for allowing a rented golf cart from them to the driving person. Some even ask for a current driver’s license.
So, if you get stuck in such a spot, and have teens with you, then maybe the only way will be to ask an adult for piloting the golf cart to the chosen area.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Do you need a License to drive a golf cart in Florida?
No, it’s not necessary for golf cart operators to have a driving license. But just like I said Earlier, you must be at least 14 years old or more. Also in some cases, with speed limitations, one may need to have a special driving license. But that’s not the general ruling.
2. Are golf carts allowed on sidewalks in Florida?
Yes, one can drive the carts on the sidewalks of Florida. However, there are two things you must follow in that case. One is that the driver must have the cart wielded to pedestrians. And also, the sidewalk should be at least 5 feet in width.
3. Is it legal to drive a golf cart in a neighborhood?
This actually varies depending on which city and town you are talking about. There are some limited ones that have passed local law for during the cart on road. In that case, a valid driving license needs to be issued. The vehicle should also come with a safety flag. As well as some sort of slow-moving vehicle sign displayed clearly for others to see.
And that was about how old do you have to be to drive a golf cart in Florida. Make sure you are not crossing the decided ruling to play it safe. Also, if you are going to the location for a vacation, then go for golf carts that come with optimal condition batteries to drive without a problem.
If it’s your own one, make sure to timely do maintenance such as changing the battery and so on. You might want to find out about 6 volt golf cart battery cost before buying a new one.
Looks like we are done with today’s discussion, see you again on something else next time. Till then take care.